AFL Round 1: St Kilda v Brisbane and the Saints fed to the Lions


St Kilda and Brisbane match up in the first AFL game after the AFLW Grand Final between Western Bulldogs and Brisbane. If Brisbane win the AFLW Grand Final, will this inspire their male counterparts in the match across town that starts virtually as soon as that game is over? We think they might. So we’re going for a weird double: If the Western Bulldogs win the AFLW Grand Final, St Kilda will win the men’s game. If Brisbane win the AFLW Grand Final, they will also win the men’s game.


But let’s analyse the game properly. St Kilda have been ‘almost there’ over the past few seasons, on track to reach the finals before they had brain fades and started to lose the matches they should have won. They’ve just missed out of finals action over the past two seasons, and they should be on the cusp again.

Need some AFL ear candy? Listen to the Round 1 AFL Protected Zone podcast.

They have a similar team to the 2017 formula – Josh Bruce, Tim Membrey, Jake Carlisle, Jack Steven, Jarryn Geary, Jack Billings. But have they got enough to take it to the next step? We’re not so sure.

Brisbane have a different dynamic about them. They are the current wooden spooner, and just missed out on this unwanted award in 2016, so there’s not much going for them. But, the only way for them is up, and we think that’s where they’ll go. Right up.

They’ve got something about them this year, with former Adelaide speedster, Charlie Cameron, and former Hawthorn champion, ‘The General’, Luke Hodge, joining the crew. Mix them in with Daniel Rich, Dayne Zorko, Mitch Robinson, Eric Hipwood, Tom Bell, Allen Christensen and Dayne Beams, and you’ve almost got the makings of a good team. After all, they are one of the three current AFLX title holders.

A tight tussle but, St Kilda with their home ground advantage, should win this game. Which means we think the Western Bulldogs will also win the AFLW Grand Final.

Last time:

  • Round 3, 2017. St Kilda 14.23 defeated Brisbane 11.10.


  • Eddy Jay: St Kilda, 24 points
  • Lintang Enam: Brisbane, 19 points
  • Computer says: St Kilda, 34 points
Facebook Comments